Boats, Snowmobiles, ATVs
Dawn T. Goldman - Keokuk County Recorder
2023 OHV / DIRTBIKE / SNOWMOBILE RENEWAL NOTICE
Starting September 1st of each year, you can stop by the Recorder's Office and renew all ATVs, snowmobiles, and dirt bikes with annual recreational registrations. Please bring in your previous registration permit with you to ensure the proper machine is registered. Registrations are based on the make and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) of your machine. No refunds are allowed for the incorrect registration. It will be the responsibility of the owner to renewal the machines before January 1st of the following year to avoid a penalty. Snowmobilers are also required to purchase a riding permit along with the registration to meet state guidelines.
CLICK HERE TO GET REMINDER EMAILS SENT TO YOU FOR BOATS, SNOWMOBILES AND OFF HIGHWAY VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS! (Please pick the following when completing request: Subject: RECORDER, then state in the message section RENEWAL REMINDER and indicate which renewal reminder you would like to receive: BOAT or OFF HIGHWAY VEHICLE or SNOWMOBILE. Please look for OHV and Snowmobile reminder emails the first week of October of each year, and Boat reminder emails the first week in February, 2022, and the first week of April, 2022.
BOATS, SNOWMOBILE & OHV REGISTRATIONS & TITLING
2023 Boat registrations fees:
|New Boat - Documented Vessel||$29.90|
|Renew Reg. - Documented Vessel||$29.90|
|New Personal Watercraft||$49.90|
|Renew Reg. - Personal Watercraft||$49.90|
|New Boat - Any Length, no motor/sail||$16.90|
|Renew Reg. - Any Length, no motor/sail||$16,90|
|New Boat - Less than 16 ft., motor/sail||$27.40|
|Renew Reg. - Less than 16 ft., motor/sail||$27.40|
|New Boat - 16 ft. to under 26 ft., motor/sail||$40.90|
|Renew Reg. - 16 ft. to under 26 ft., motor/sail||$40.90|
|New Boat - 26 ft. to under 40 ft., motor/sail||$79.90|
|Renew Reg. - 26 ft to under 40 ft., motor/sail||$79.90|
|New Boat - 40 ft. and over, motor/sail||$154.90|
|Renew Reg. - 40 ft. and over, motor/sail||$154.90|
|Transfer of Ownership||$3.50|
|Durable Hard Card||
Current registrations will expire April 30, 2022. Boat owners may renew their registrations Jan 1, 2022 through April 30, 2022 without paying a penalty. After June 30, 2022, there will be a $5.00 penalty added to the renewal fee. Boat registrations in Iowa are for a 3-year period, so any boats renewed will expire April 30, 2025.
Transfers for a boat can only be made with a title, and a bill of sale signed by seller. All boats over 17' are required to be titled. If a lien is placed on a boat, then it always has a title.
Sales tax is collected on all transfers of boats or personal watercraft that do not come from a dealer or tax has not been collected. Bill of Sale must show the tax collected.
Registration is NOT required for 1) inflatable vessels that are 7 feet or less in length; 2) canoes and kayaks that are 13 feet or less in length and have no motor or sail; and 3) vessels properly registered in another state and using Iowa water for 60 days or less.
Snowmobile & Off Highway Vehicle Registration fees
**Off Highway Vehicles include All-terrain Vehicles, Off-road Motorcycles, and Off-road Utility Vehicles**
|Snowmobile & Off Highway Vehicle Fees:|
|New Registration and Renewal||$18.50|
|Snowmobile / OHV Title||$13.50|
|Snowmobile / OHV Lien||$13.50|
All Iowa DNR registrations expire December 31 of each calendar year. A $5.00 penalty is added to the renewal cost for an expired registration.
Transfers can be made with a title and a bill of sale signed by the seller. ALL MACHINES THAT ARE REGISTERED ARE REQUIRED TO BE TITLED.
Sales tax is collected on all transfers of snowmobiles and OHVs that do not come from a dealer or tax has not been collected. Bill of Sale must show the tax collected.
Iowa DNR Regulations & Forms