Dawn T. Goldman - Keokuk County Recorder
County vital records are regulated by the Iowa Department of Public Health by state laws and administrative rules.
Marriage Application and Licenses for Keokuk County, Iowa
If you want to get married in Iowa, you will need to obtain a marriage license.
Identification: Government issued photo ID or passport
Witness: 1 person over the age of 18 (with photo ID) who personally knows both parties
Check Payable: Keokuk County Recorder
Application: Pick up application or complete in office
Processing Time: There is a 3-day waiting period before license is valid - marriage packet will be available to pick up on or after the valid date
Valid Date: When the marriage license valid date is computed, the day of application is excluded. Therefore, the license is valid (including weekend days) as follows:
|Application Received Date||License Valid Date|
The license does not expire unless it is NOT retrieved from the County Registrar within six months from the date of application, the application is then considered null and void.
Birth, Death & Marriage Records for Keokuk County, Iowa
Birth Records are available for years 1880-1920 and 1942 to current for customers applying by mail. Birth Records from 1921 to 1941 are available only to walk-in customers in the office due to state regulations and are available by mail through the Iowa Department of Public Health. Births to unwed mothers prior to 7/1/1995 are only available at the Iowa Department of Public Health. See below for certified copy requirements.* A certified copy of a birth record can be obtained in any Iowa county back to 1988.
Death Records are available for years 1880-1920 and 1942 to current for customers applying by mail. Death Records from 1921 to 1941 are available only to walk-in customers in the office due to state regulations and are available by mail through the Iowa Department of Public Health. See below for certified copy requirements.* A certified copy of a Death Record can be obtained in any Iowa county back to 1954.
Marriage Records are available for years 1844 to current. See below for certified copy requirements.* A certified copy of a Marriage Record can be obtained in any Iowa county back to 1954.
To receive a certified copy of a Keokuk County Vital Record
Applications can be downloaded from the Iowa Dept of Public Health website, click below:
*Certified copies are available to only those with entitlement. (i.e. person named on record (if 18 or older), mother or father (if named on record), spouse, brother or sister (if 18 or older), maternal grandparents and paternal grandparents. (if father is named on record), children or legal representatives with entitlement of proof of blood relation or representation may be required.
- Complete appropriate Application for Certified Copy form, which is required to be signed in front of a notary public; and
- Provide copy of a current Driver’s License or other current government photo ID; and
- Submit $15.00 check or money order.
Non Receipt of a Vital Certificate by mail in Keokuk County, Iowa
If a vital certificate was not received by mail, you may complete a Non Receipt of VItal Certificate and send to our office after 30 days has elapsed from the date certificate(s) was issued (to allow delivery by the US Postal Service). Please call or stop in our office for the appropriate form.